The Road To All We Need is Love: Prologue

Posted: February 28, 2015 in All We Really Need Is Love, Books, Me, Uncategorized
Tags: , , , , , ,

Lovestory

 

Soooo sweet…….

 

In 2013, I was able to complete a lifelong ambition of mine, write a book. Straight Dope: A 360 degree look into American drug culture was completed and on the shelves in Feb 2013 and I was stoked beyond belief. Here I am, a real artist. When I first meet people I can tell them I am writer and point to where my work is. But being an artist means that you cannot rest on your laurels. Being a writer you have to constantly write because well, that’s what we do, we write. And so now I had to think about the next project.

Let me rewind a little bit. While completing Straight Dope I had an idea of what my next books would be. I have always thought ahead and have always had a crazy number of ideas come to me (it has gotten to the point that I use my Iphone’s Notes app to write anything that comes to me). One of them was to write a book on relationships. Now as a guy that has dated around for more than a decade and whom is on his longest relationship yet (one year and a half thank you), I probably wouldn’t be the first guy you would want to read something like that from. But, I love asking questions and I love listening to people. I have always been an inquisitive guy and have always loved a good story. So before I decided to backpack throughout Central America, and even before I released Straight Dope, I started working on my next book.

In my life, I am at my happiest when I am creating. I love to write, work on projects, and just work towards my goals. To some it may sound obsessive, but I am a driven cat like that. To create from nothing is my most favorite thing in the world to do. And with Straight Dope, as much as I loved it and the creative process of it, there were sooo many things I wish I could do again. This was my first major project, and with it came many lessons to be learned. I wish I could tell y’all everything that went through the creation of it and the post creation and release of it. So many mistakes made, but it is a learning process and I can tell you, it was one of the hardest things I have ever done, but one of the greatest things as well.

When I decided to sit down and write a book on relationships, I thought, “Who do I want to talk to?” That was the question and I then sat out to answer it.

 

Leave a Reply

