21 Things I have learned

Posted: May 31, 2013 in Uncategorized
Tags: , ,

Vegas

I have a lot of faith. In God and myself. Sometimes it’s the only thing that has gotten me through life. I always knew that if I tried at something, God has my back and would never let fail.

I love writing.

I do alot of things alone. I’ve traveled, lived, went out, and had fun by myself. It is a shame that people have to always have others with them when they do the simplest things. I don’t need a crutch.

I love my Mother. I would probably do anything in the world for her. We talk at least two to three times a week. I don’t understand why people would be estranged from their mothers. Unless she was like Hemmingway’s Mom………

Speaking of my Mom, early on she taught my Brother and I about sex and drugs: what to do and what not to do. It saved our lives.

When I get writers block, I just write something else.

A lot of time when I was sleeping around, it was to mask my insecurity. I thought that outside affirmation would make me feel better about myself, but it didn’t. Only when I realized that I was special without all of that, I stopped seeking that.

A kid in the ghetto has a firmer grip on mortality than anyone else. He or she (unfortunately) has seen violence on a regular basis and realizes that life is not promised to anyone.

You have to pay attention to the woman when you are, you know…… That way, she will be satisfied, happy, and will want more.

If you don’t want to have a child, you wont. Plain and simple.

Sometimes when I look at my brother with beautiful wife, lovely son, and the richness of his life, then look at mine, I get a bit sad. Real talk, he has a lot of intangibles that I would love to have. But then I realize that I had a lot to do with how he turned out, I smile and become happy. It’s not every day you get to help someone become a great man.

I don’t care what people think about me, and it took me a long time to get there. When I realized that peoples opinions really don’t mater and that they are reflections of themselves, and that I didn’t have to live according to other peoples standards, life got really fun. Now I love who I am and could careless what is said.

Don’t drive drunk, take a taxi. It’s much cheaper.

As I get older, I can accept constructive criticism better.

Hair color does not equate intelligence. I’ve seen smart blondes and dumb brunettes.

I never thought of God as this mean being who punished people for their different sexual orientations. God loves everyone.

The most important thing my Father ever taught me about women is that “There are always others.”

When I go with my gut, I rarely fail.

I think one of the reasons why I travel, read a lot, and immerse myself in art and culture so much is that where I come from, you are lacking. So I try to play catch up.

I am still in awe that Barack Obama is our president. It has yet to sink in that we have a black president.

Life is short.

Leave a Reply

