Interview with Danielle Taylor

Posted: April 12, 2013 in Uncategorized

I was able to connect with the super awesome Danielle Taylor for a quick interview about Straight Dope and the road to going indie. Peep it out .

 

Today I’ve got LeRon Barton with me, author of Straight Dope, a non-fiction novel.
I love his straight-forward, no-nonsense approach!
 
Straight Dope is book that asks the simple question – why are drugs so entrenched in America’s society. Instead of doing the same ol’ rigamarole song and dance and interviewing talking heads and experts, Straight Dope gets to the heart of the matter and talks to the people at ground zero – the drug addicts whose life revolves around getting high; the criminals who profit of the misery of the addicts; the teachers who deal with the children in drug abused homes; the drug counselors that try and balance breaking the addicts cycle of addiction while dealing with the bureaucracy of government politics; the legal marijuana growers battle against tobacco companies and how to thrive in the growing industry; and the parents issue of how they will prepare their children to just say no.
 
Inspired by the late great Studs Terkel’s many works, Straight Dope is comprised of raw and uncut hard hitting interviews about the participants experiences, thoughts, opinions, and outlook on drug abuse, why or why not drugs should be legal, and how the government is handling the war on drugs.
 
Removing nearly all of the questions, the interviews are more like monologues, allowing the reader to feel as if the subject is just, “talking,” instead of your standard interview.
 
In addition to the real life accounts of people, Straight Dope also has spoken word pieces compiled of biting social commentary, as well as my own personal reflections composed of my experiences with drugs.

 

Tell us a little (or a lot …) about yourself.

I am first time published, but long time writer originally from Kansas City, Mo, living in San Francisco.
 

cover1

What inspired you to self-publish?

You know, I sent soooo many query letters to agents about Straight Dope and realized that with the internet, I could take my destiny into my own hands and publish it. I wanted complete control over my work.
 

 

How would you sum up your first self-published work in up to 5 sentences?

Straight Dope is an unbiased look at American drug culture.
It is raw, to the point.
I talk to drug abusers, dealers, teachers, counselors, and parents.
 

What genres would your work fit into?

My book would be a non fiction sociology book.
 

How has self-publishing worked out for you? What kinds of advertising have you done?

Self publishing has been a learning experience! I have learned so much – what to do, what not do to. I have joined self publishing groups, went on blog tours ( I am on one now), made videos, and have been featured on self-publishing sites.
 

Where can we find you online?

Amazon Book Link

 

LeRon Barton

LeRon Barton

••

Did you use a professional editor? If so, what was your experience with them?

I did not use a professional editor, but the next book, I will definitely use one.

 

• Where did you procure your cover from?

I found some pictures on the web and contacted my man David Valin who created a great cover. You can contact him atgbdavid1@yahoo.com.
 

Do you see yourself self-publishing again in the future?

Absolutely! I have established Mainline Publications and will continue to create and release projects that I want to.

 

Before you go, do you have a favourite quote from your work that you’d like to leave us with?

“Life is all about choices.”
 
Thanks for your time, LeRon!
xox Danielle
Leave a Reply

