Straight Dope Excerpt: Partying and Opiates

Posted: March 19, 2013 in Uncategorized
Tags: , ,

While working at this telemarketing firm, after work a few of us would blow off steam by going over one of another’s house and drink and smoke. It was a Friday ritual. You had to.Being on the phone five or six hours straight talking and trying to convince folks that they needed an alarm or whatever would drive you nuts. Matter of fact, you had to be on something half the time to get through the day, but that’s a whole ‘nother story. Anyway, this one particular night, maybe 5 or 6 of us went over this one girls house to party. Nice person, pretty, but always seemed “off.” Well, we were chilling, talking shit about management, the people, and whatever we wanted to blow off, while drinking Corona, cheap wine, and whatever weed we could get our hands on. The girl goes in the kitchen and starts smoking something else. I’m curious, so I follow and by the time I get in the kitchen, I can tell by the smell this aint weed. “What is that?” I ask. She says, “Opium,” playfully. Now the girl knew I liked her and she felt the same way about me, so I was down to try.

The girl took a drag from the pipe and gave me a “shotgun.” After taking that hit, I looked at the girl for a second, then sat down for what it seemed like five minutes, but was really hours.

A couple of months went by and I never seen her again. I went to my man “A,” who was also a supervisor, and asked him if he seen the girl. A said, “Nah, she couldn’t handle her shit.” I looked at him and said, “That’s fucked up.” A replied, “Nah, that’s life.”

For more stories like this, pick up Straight Dope: A 360 degree look into American drug culture available at Amazon.com now!!

Leave a Reply

