Inadequate

Posted: March 14, 2013 in Uncategorized
Tags: , , , ,

Our deepest fear is not that we are inadequate but….

We are truly amazing. I think many people do not believe how great they are. When I was dating my ex (but totally awesome) girlfriend, she would always say that I was afraid of success, and I would be totally bewildered by that. Think about it, who would be afraid of achieving their goals, their dreams, totally triumphant over everything that they wanted. But then as I thought about and thought about (there was a lot of thought into this Ha!), I realized she was right (this was a common thing in our relationship). I did have a fear of success. What if I did achieve my goals? My life would totally change. Fear! Oh the fear. Think about it: Everything you have worked for you would have gotten, and that scares the crap out of some people. Some of it is because we don’t think we could ever accomplish our goals and the other would be because we do not deem ourselves worthy.

When I was younger, I never thought I was worthy. Why? Well there were a couple of things: I was teased because of the way I looked. I had a big head, I mean I couldn’t fit certain hats (I still have that problem darn it!), I was of a darker complexion, I talked very proper because my Mom made us read CONSTANTLY (thanks Mom), and because I was a little on the clumsy side (yep). So naturally teasing makes you feel a little insecure. When I started out writing, I would always say to myself, “Is this good enough?” “Am I as good as so and so…” And that train of thought would kill me. One day I was talking to my Mother about something and had said, “I don’t know if this is going to be good enough…” She interrupted me with the quickness (very fast she is) and said, “LeRon, there is no room in your mind for self doubt.” I would like to say that after that moment I stopped thinking like that, but I didn’t. It took awhile, but then I realized that I am great at what I do and there is no need to doubt myself. Why? It is a total waste of time. And from there came the realization that I am worthy of greatness.

A long time ago, I heard someone say, “If you don’t believe in yourself, why should someone else?” And that is so true. We are capable of so much, but we let fear and doubt cripple us. When I backpacked throughout Central America last year, I met so many people who were doing crazy things, not even thinking about if they would fail or if it wouldn’t be successful. They were doing it and the energy was infectious.

What I am trying to say is that it all boils down to confidence, self love, and knowing that you will make it. This may sound clichéd, but you have to believe in yourself. Why not?? Every time I think about not succeeding or accomplishing a goal, I think of two things: What my Mother said and Liz Murray. Liz who? She is a young lady who was homeless and worked her way up to going to Harvard. Yes, that Harvard. So if she can do it, you can. You just have to realize you are worth it. You are worthy. You are great. You are created in His image and if you believe he is the all great, the you know you are fantastic! All that and then some! I am gonna leave you with one of my all time fave quotes from Marianne Williamson. She is super awesome and I am truly blessed to come in contact with her.

“Our deepest fear is not that we are inadequate. Our deepest fear is that we are powerful beyond measure. It is our light, not our darkness that most frightens us. We ask ourselves, Who am I to be brilliant, gorgeous, talented, fabulous? Actually, who are you not to be? You are a child of God. Your playing small does not serve the world. There is nothing enlightened about shrinking so that other people won’t feel insecure around you. We are all meant to shine, as children do. We were born to make manifest the glory of God that is within us. It’s not just in some of us; it’s in everyone. And as we let our own light shine, we unconsciously give other people permission to do the same. As we are liberated from our own fear, our presence automatically liberates others.”

LeRon

P.S. If you have some Pisces women in your life, listen to them. Yeah sometimes they may bug you (well a lot), but they know what they are talking about.Image

Straight Dope: A 360 degree look into American drug culture is available at Amazon.com NOW!!

Comments
  1. cairnr says:

    Great post LeRon, your mom is a smart woman. The only thing that ever holds us back is us.

  2. Mr. Winters says:

    This is life altering family. Great peice. *salute*

Leave a Reply

