The Journey to Straight Dope pt.1

Posted: January 25, 2013 in Uncategorized
Tags: , , , ,

It's Me!

I knew that I have always wanted to be a writer. Let me rewind for a sec. I first wanted to be a stuntman, race car driver, and then a writer. After finding out that stuntmen get hurt and the fact that I am not the best person behind the wheel (ask any of my friends), I focused my energies on putting my thoughts, opinions, and stories on paper. Writing has always been my fave thing in the entire world. I have always said that there is nothing more beautiful than a blank sheet of paper. All of the endless possibilities, what you can do, say… writing makes me feel alive, keeps me awake, allows me to explore any world, and create any world that I choose to see fit.

From creating my own comic books when I was younger, contributing to the school paper when I was a Junior and Senior, writing for a local punk ‘Zine (and almost getting kicked out of school – long story), composing poetry, and writing a couple of scripts, I was determined to write. But, as I was finding my voice and my style, I knew that the ultimate goal in my life was to write a book. Every artist, athlete, business person I knew, etc. has that one big goal, that “Holy Grail” that no matter what you do or accomplish, it will always be starring you in the face like, “Okay, when are we gonna get started bud?”

Now to keep it all the way live, I was very afraid to get started. I mean, “The Book” was intimidating. What would I write? What if it was terrible? And more and more questions that inundated my mind. But I knew that I had to get over the fear of it being terrible and just get going.

After throwing around ideas and seeing what I wanted to write about and say, I found a couple of concepts, put them down, and decided on my first project. My very first published work would consist of  interviews with drug addicts, dealers, teachers, parents, and other folks talking about drugs in America. Why that subject? Well it’s controversial, something that I know alot about, and it is a topic that immediately strikes up a discussion.

In creating the book, I didn’t want the interviews to be your standard, “Question then answer…,” so inspired by Studs Terkel and his classic books, I wrote it in a monologue format. When read, it seems as if the interviewee is just telling their story.

Comments
  1. Reni says:

    Like I said the other day, you have finally arrived and I am not surprised. I am looking forward to reading it. Congrats on this achievement!

Leave a Reply

